FRANKLIN, Tenn. – The Franklin’s Charge Cannon Committee, led by Chairman Cullen Smith, worked to secure three 3-inch Ordnance rifles and a 12-pounder Napoleon to be displayed on the site as it was during the Battle of Franklin held Nov. 30, 1864. The dedication of the cannons will be held 1 p.m. Friday, Nov. 10.
To date, more than 20 acres make up Carter Hill Battlefield Park, which continues to expand and contribute to the economic impact of heritage tourism in Williamson County. In 2016, local and national preservation partners closed on a land transaction that resulted in the creation of this city battlefield park along Columbia Avenue in downtown Franklin. The Civil War Trust, The Heritage Foundation of Franklin and Williamson County, The Battle of Franklin Trust and Franklin’s Charge, Inc. transferred acres of property to the City of Franklin that were converted into a public battlefield park near The Carter House, a national landmark site.
Franklin’s Charge is accepting donations for the cannons which may be sent to Cannon Fund, Franklin’s Charge, 604 West Main Street, Franklin, Tenn. 37064. For more information, visit www.franklinscharge.org/support/.
About The Battle of Franklin Trust
The Battle of Franklin Trust is a 501(c)3 management corporation acting on behalf of Franklin’s battlefield sites to contribute to a greater understanding and enrich the visitor experience of the November 30, 1864 battle. It is organized for the charitable and educational purposes of preserving, restoring, maintaining and interpreting the properties, artifacts and documents related to the battle so as to preserve an important part of the nation’s history.